Spain Summer 2018

Madrid

June 28 – July 16, 2018

I arrived in Spain on June 28,2018 to stay with my first host family in Madrid. They have three homes, two of which I stayed at with them.

Their primary residence is in the middle of Madrid. There was easy access to the local bus and the train station, which took me everywhere I wanted to go.  The place in the country was not near public transportation, however I was fortunate in that my host family drove me to many places where transportation would be difficult. I truly appreciated them going above and beyond like that. So hospitable of them.

In exchange for accommodations and meals I cared for my host family’s children, mostly their five year old daughter, since their three year old son was in preschool during the hours they mostly needed me.

Most of the time we would go outside to play in the park or go swimming in the pool from about 10:00 to 12:30. Occasionally we would walk down to another park. On the way we often stopped at the local fruit stand to buy some fruit to take with us to the park. Sometimes we would cook together, making some italian favorites such as handmade shell macaroni with meatballs or potatoes and squash with tomatoes, which my mother-in-law taught me how to make.

The rest of the day, as well as weekends, I was free to come and go as I wished.  Click Here to read the article I wrote regarding the public transportation system for Madrid.

Highlights of Madrid:

Staying with Locals
Visiting Toledo
Eating Tapas
Partying in the Streets of Plaza Mayor
Flamenco Show
Spontaneous Musicians Playing
Pamplona Running of the Bulls
Seeing Picasso’s Famous Painting ‘Guernica’
Visiting the Segovia Castle

Sitges

July 16 – July 29, 2018

I took a train from Madrid to Barcelona on July 16, 2018 to stay with another host family in Sitges. Sitges has a different atmosphere. First of all it is on the coast of Spain and most of the people here speak Catalonian, not Spanish.

I am staying with a single mother who has two adorable girls ages ten and five. During the day I care for them while their mother works from about 10:00 – 14:00, during which time the girls and I prepare the main meal of the day which we all sit down to eat together at 14:00 in the afternoon. There is also plenty of time to go in the swimming pool. I am planning on doing some sightseeing in Barcelona while I am here as well as spend some time at the beach.

Highlights of Sitges:

The loving family I am staying with
Cooking with the girls
Learning about Castelles Human Tower making
The Unique Cobblestone Streets of Sitges
The gorgeous Coastling